RAA Congratulates Secretary Mayorkas on Confirmation to DHS

Washington, DC, February 4, 2021. Media contact: media@raa.org

Following yesterday’s confirmation of Alejandro Mayorkas as Secretary of the Department of Homeland Security, Regional Airline Association (RAA) President and CEO Faye Malarkey Black offered this statement:
“We congratulate Secretary Alejandro Mayorkas on his confirmation to lead the Department of Homeland Security (DHS). We believe he has shown great leadership in his previous roles at DHS, including that of Deputy Secretary, and has demonstrated a strong commitment to air travel security and efficiency. RAA works with many of DHS agencies, such as the Transportation Security Administration (TSA), U.S. Customs and Border Protection (CBP) and Cybersecurity and Infrastructure Security Agency (CISA) on various air transportation issues. Most recently RAA partnered with these agencies to develop and implement policies, including a mask mandate as well as international testing, that enhance the safety of flying in this COVID era. We look forward to continuing our work together to keep domestic air travel safe and secure.”

About RAA  
The Regional Airline Association (RAA) provides a unified voice of advocacy for North American regional airlines aimed at promoting a safe, reliable and strong regional airline industry. RAA serves as an important support network connecting regional airlines and industry business partners. In the United States, regional airlines operate 40% of scheduled passenger flights and provide the only source of scheduled air service to 66% of the nation’s airports. Regional airlines provide 75% or more of the air service in Alabama (76%), Alaska (88%), Arkansas (83%), Idaho (75%), Iowa (76%), Kansas (78%), Maine (77%), Mississippi (77%), Montana (78%), Nebraska (90%), North Dakota (87%), South Dakota (85%), Vermont (77%), West Virginia (92%), and Wyoming (78%). Regional airlines provide half or more of the air service in Indiana (61%), Kentucky (67%), Michigan (57%), New Hampshire (61%), New Mexico (53%), North Carolina (54%), Ohio (58%), Oklahoma (51%), Oregon (50%), Pennsylvania (53%), Rhode Island (54%), South Carolina (54%), Tennessee (47%), Virginia (58%) and Wisconsin (61%).